Tulip Girl left this quote on the last Muffin thread in response to someone else’s question and several of us thought it deserved its own thread for discussion.

One of the things the the Lord did in my life during our time in Ukraine was help point out in my own heart and life how many of my OWN ideas were not from the Bible, as I thought they were–but were instead reflections of the Generic North American Protestant (GNAP) subculture. GNAP is something Hubby has written about a lot in the past, and yet it took being submerged in another culture for me to see how much I mixed Biblical truths with subculture ideals.”

What are some of the “subculture ideals” that Christians in the U.S. tend to confuse with Biblical truth?  How do we recognize these as they are so ingrained in us as Americans?  How do we address those cultural differences as Christians?

Please post your thoughts, questions, testimonies, experiences here.

