Sometimes I find it helpful to rehearse God’s goodness–to speak back to myself the specifics of God’s working and intervening in my specific life. When I was in college, a friend suggested I keep a list of answered prayers / specific miracles / particularly meaningful changes that God ordained; it was very faith-producing and stabilizing for me. Tonight at church, I heard someone do something similar. He went through name after name that described God: Shepherd, Father, Friend, Comforter, Saviour, Teacher. He gave specific examples of situations in which God had worked recently, clearly–ways God had shown Himself and showcased His character.

Wouldn’t this be fun to do here? I’d love to hear God glorified through our praising him in this thread. I’ll begin:

I’m thankful for God’s grace.
Finishing up a study on Ephesians and reading Seeing with New Eyes by David Powlison, I’m aware of my own sin in a new way. I’ve understood, for a while, that I sin. It’s easy to see that I gossip, I manipulate, I get angry. But this book has shown me that I often sin even when doing “good” things. I listen to someone’s story so I can tell mine. I compliment to be complimented. I am kind to receive kindness. 2 Corinthians 5:14 says, “The love of Christ controls us, having concluded this, that one died for all, therefore all died; and He died for all, so that they who live might no longer live for themselves, but for Him who died and rose again on their behalf.”

I, who demand my own way, who work to be made much of and who try to steal God’s glory, am forgiven and redeemed by the Lionlike Lamb who died for me. He paid for my sin so that I could live for Him; I fail constantly, miserably. Yet I am given grace upon grace, daily, hourly, constantly.

Your turn. What are you praising God for today?

