It is a fact that many of our blog friends know us better than our neighbors and the people we share a pew with at church. The blogosphere has opened the doors to relationships, friendships, and networks never seen before. While for the most part I think this is a great gift from God, I also think it has some serious potential pitfalls.

Because the blog world is so fluid and lacks the accountability of real life situations, it is easy to “drop” a friend or a blog when something no longer meets our need or a difficulty arises. I think it also makes it easy to gloss over differences that in real life might make friendships much more challenging.

I’m wondering what people think about how the truth, primarily as it relates to the Gospel, should be a factor in online friendships. Both online and in person, I relate to a variety of people – some who claim Christ as Savior and some who don’t. I enjoy reading blogs written by brothers and sisters in Christ and I enjoy blogs that have no faith content at all where I have no way of knowing if the blogger is a Christian or not.

My concern is blogging relationships that explain away or even laugh about fundamental differences of primary doctrines of the historical, orthodox Christian faith (the deity of Christ, salvation through Christ alone, etc.). I’m not talking about secondary issues (mode of baptism, spiritual gifts, etc.), but the very doctrines that define what it means to be a follower of Christ.

Is it easier to ignore those differences online? Do we have the same desire to share the Gospel with our blogging friends as we do with our real life ones? How should we relate to bloggers who we would claim as online friends, but are committed to a religious system that we know is false?

