When I was growing up, I often heard my grandmother refer to someone as “a woman of accomplishment,” though, to my regret, I never really asked her to explain that to me. I had a general sense that it meant she was well-educated, though not necessarily formally, or that she had learned and nurtured certain skills that caused her to rise above others in some sort of desirability.  Though I might not have been able to define it, I knew it when I saw it.

What did it mean to be a woman of accomplishment 50 or 100 or 200 years ago?

What does being a woman of accomplishment involve in the 21st century?  What abilities or traits might cause a woman to be called a woman of accomplishment in the new millennium?

And, most importantly, what does it mean for a Christian woman in the 21st century to be a woman of accomplishment?

