I came across these transcripts of an interview done on March 8, 2007, with Debbie Makin, author of Getting Serious About Getting Married:  Rethinking the Gift of Singleness.  Any thoughts?

For additional insights into this way of thinking, you can check out the conversation on the Canon blog here and Debbie Makin’s blog here.

I notice, in my church,  literally dozens of singles, men and women, in their late twenties and early thirties.  I would guess that many, if not most, are young professionals.  I also know that many young men I know personally who are financially well prepared for marriage and in stable careers are living the carefree bachelor life.  Is this a good thing?  Why do you think this is?  Debbie Makin seems to be saying that there is no such thing as godly singleness.  Am I reading her correctly?  And what do you make of this?

