I happened across this story in today’s local paper. Sad that the female author is once again pitting women against women. Beyond that though, it sounds like the same kind of schizophrenia that shows up in Where the Girls Are, the desire to be at home nesting, enjoying all the things traditionally “feminine,” and yet not finding that the only place that God-given talents could/should be developed and used, needing a bigger horizon than the four walls of the house. The author, Flanagan, describes her book as “trying to say…It’s a kind of life, a way of life that’s wrought with divergent conflicting impulses.”

Has anyone read her book? It’s brand new, and I’m hoping to get it from the library in the next couple days.

Disclaimer: I’m not suggesting that there’s anything Christian about Flanagan’s book. I’ve not read it yet, and I don’t know anything about her other than the reviews I’ve seen. I would expect her to mention education for women, and I’m curious to see what she has to say there.

