This is post no. 12 in a series.

I’m Rachelle, a 30-something wife and mother. I was born and raised in Oregon in a Christian family and homeschooled for most of my education. My extended family was very pro-education and I started requesting college brochures at 15 and after graduation attended Biola University in southern California for a year before my money ran out. I took three years off to work, save, and pray and then finished my education at Concordia University in Portland, earning a degree in Humanities and a minor in International Business. The highlight of my college career was attending Oak Hill College in London for a semester.

I have worked in higher education (admissions) for 6 years at three different colleges. While working in Virginia, I met and married my husband, Mike, and we have a 2-yr. old son Ben. I left the full-time work force when Ben was 4 1/2 months to be home with him and we subsequently moved to western Washington state. We are active in Christ the Victor Church, where I help with the church calendar.

I’m excited about the voice that got me a college girl brings to the table for many reasons. One is the lack of support I received from my family when I knew that a college education was the right thing for me to pursue. Secondly, my most recent job in higher education brought me into contact with a lot of people that believed that a college education should not a viable option for women and others who thought the value of college for a girl was an expensive debutante ball where their daughters would be introduced to “a higher calibre” of male prospects for a husband. Third, I encountered opposition from some who presumed that because I was an educated woman in the workplace, I would not be willing to submit to my husband and stay home and raise children. I find this view so biased, as if the modern workforce is such a wonderful place for a woman that once she has experienced it, she’ll never want to leave. I’ve never heard this vocalized by women who have been there, but only those who haven’t worked outside the home, and men. Lastly, I was single until I was 32 and knew that to some I had less value as a single woman than I would have had I been married and having children. The students I worked with often felt this acutely too, and I spent some time with young women in my office who were confused about their place as Christian women in the 21st century. This blog speaks to their inate value as daughters of God in a culture that pulls them between being defined by their economic/educational value or by their relational value (whom they are married to/mother to).

I relish the opportunity to be home full-time with my son and to help my husband manage his life more effectively. I fully recognize that this is a gift that not everyone has the opportunity for, and am thankful that God has let me be home for this season of my life.

