The first thing I learned when I bobbed my hair and went off to college was that I cannot possibly know everything on my own. As an avid reader and asker of questions, if I had thought about it, I would have probably said that on my own I could learn, for the most part, whatever I wanted to learn. I could walk to the library and fill my basket with books on any subject of interest and absorb facts and knowledge and I would be “educated.” Because I am blessed with a thinking mind and a curious nature, self-education should be the best path for me to travel.

So I take my silly school-girl self down to school and quickly realize that education is not the absorption of facts and knowledge. Being educated has nothing to do with learning how to do new things fundamentally. It’s all about learning how to think. It’s all about taking those facts and that knowledge and using them to live in this world in which we’ve been placed. Certainly, a great deal of knowledge can be attained through individual study. But learning what to do with that knowledge and how to function with other people cannot be done holed up in a room somewhere reading library books and internet journals. To think so is immature and cocky.

In summation, college can enhance your life in ways that simply cannot come without attending an academic institution of higher learning.

Practically, education is about bettering this world. It’s about reaching out to everyone around us with helping hands and words. It’s about bettering yourself so that whatever job you take, whether it be that of a homekeeper or that of a college professor, you will be best able to accomplish the task at hand.

